top of page


Mystic, Conn.  July 21, 22 & 23. 2023

Area Information



  • Mystic is a village of historic homes and businesses hat is on both sides of the Mystic River a couple miles inland from Fisher Island Sound.  The village is connected by the historic and iconic bascule drawbridge that is celebrating it’s 100th anniversary in 2022.  US Route 1 (runs from Maine to Key West) goes across the bridge and through the village. 

  • The downtown area is mostly on the west (Town of Groton) side of the river with its shops, restaurants, and the popular “Mystic Pizza”, a pizza parlor made famous by Julia Roberts a few years back. 

  • The east (Town of Stonington) side also has some shops and restaurants and is the home of Mystic Seaport Museum, a truly unique and world class maritime museum.  The museum grounds are a working seafaring village of buildings along the river that tell the story of a time when building wooden ships was the main industry in Mystic.  More than 600 ships were built here over 135 years starting in 1784.

  • Just out a bit near I-95 is Olde Mistick Village that has several shops and eateries in colonial style buildings. The area also has several hotels, some more restaurants, and the popular Mystic Aquarium.



  • Just a few miles from Mystic and down at he mouth of the Mystic River is the coastal village of Noank. It too has many historic homes and had a long tradition of shipbuilding  in addition to fishing and lobstering. The village is on a steep peninsula and some of its narrow streets offer great views of the river and Fishers Island Sound.

  • One of the very popular attractions in Noank is Abbott’s Lobster in the Rough where you can eat your favorite seafood outside on picnic tables overlooking the scenic river.


Stonington Borough


Just to the east of Mystic is the seaside Borough of Stonington, one of the oldest villages in Connecticut and located on a peninsula that juts into Little Narragansett Bay.   It has many historic homes along with shops and restaurants, and is still home to a small fishing fleet.  The Borough has a long tradition of commercial fishing, and each year celebrates the “Blessing of the Fleet” in honor of the many fishermen who gave their lives working this very dangerous occupation.

  • In the 1800’s, the Borough was a transportation hub.  Before the railroad built bridges across the major rivers along the Connecticut shore, the line from Boston ended at the docks of the Borough where passengers could continue on a steamship down Long Island Sound to New York City.

  • In addition to the Lighthouse Museum, the Borough is also home to Captain Nathanial Palmer House Museum, and the James Merrill House.

bottom of page